關於 WestConnex 的空氣質量

WestConnex 隧道內空氣質量監測計劃和通風系統旨在保護和改善使用隧道的當地社區和駕車者的健康。

公路隧道可以通過將交通從當地道路上轉移並將車輛轉移到地下來幫助減少空氣污染。與當地的地面道路相比,隧道可以更有效地控制和分散車輛排放。隧道周圍的空氣質量受到持續監測,以確保達到標準。

您可以在此處找到新 M4 隧道、M5 East 和 WestConnex M8 的空氣質量實時數據

悉尼的空氣質量

根據制定準則的世界衛生組織的國際比較,按照世界標準,悉尼的空氣質量良好。

儘管交通量隨著時間的推移顯著增加,但悉尼的空氣質量有所改善,現在比二十年前更清潔。這是由於更嚴格的燃料和車輛排放標準導致車輛排放的重大改善。

WestConnex 和空氣質量

WestConnex 致力於在 WestConnex 路網建設和運營過程中有效管理空氣質量。隧道基礎設施包括最先進的技術,例如監控和通風設施,有助於保持我們隧道和附近社區的空氣清潔。

WestConnex 的設計過程中考慮並評估了空氣質量。隧道的設計比悉尼的其他隧道更寬、更平坦、更高,這意味著更順暢的旅程,更少的停-啟駕駛,緩解路面擁堵和更少的車輛排放。

監測和報告空氣質量

在新南威爾士州,空氣排放由新南威爾士州環境保護局 (EPA) 監管,在道路項目設計和運營期間,遵守環境或室外空氣質量標準是一個重要的考慮因素。為確保滿足要求和標準,WestConnex 項目必鬚根據項目所處的條件進行建設和運營,這些條件控制空氣質量限制、監測和報告。

這些條件是與新南威爾士州隧道空氣質量諮詢委員會協商制定的,該委員會由新南威爾士州首席科學家和工程師擔任主席,包括來自新南威爾士州環境保護局、新南威爾士州衛生、道路和海事以及規劃和環境部的代表作為世界領先的空氣質量專家。

進行監測和報告是為了保護和努力提高當地社區的空氣質量,並確保隧道內通風系統有效運行。

要查看我們每個項目的空氣質量報告頁面 - 請參閱下面的鏈接。

新 M4 隧道

WestConnex M8

M4-M5鏈路隧道

澳大利亞的空氣污染是由六種主要的空氣污染物來衡量的;一氧化碳,二氧化氮,光化學氧化劑,二氧化硫,鉛和顆粒物。在所有評估的污染物中,PM2.5(物質的微小顆粒,頭髮的寬度的四十分之一)被認為對我們的健康具有最大的潛在影響。因此,新南威爾士州PM2.5標準是世界上最嚴格的。

悉尼是一個主要的國際中心,居住,商業,工業和自然災害(例如叢林大火)都造成了空氣污染。主要貢獻者包括木材取暖器和家庭供暖,佔PM2.5的51%。機動車是造成排放的重要因素,佔PM2.5的14%。

隧道內空氣質量監測顯示以下數據:

外部環境空氣質量監測顯示以下數據

通風口空氣質量監測顯示以下數據:

一氧化碳(CO)

二氧化氮(NO2)

能見度(K)

一氧化碳(CO)

一氧化碳(CO)

二氧化氮(NO2)

氮氧化物(NOx)

固體顆粒

揮發性有機化合物(VOC)

二氧化氮(NO2)

直徑小於2.5微米的顆粒(PM2.5)

直徑小於10微米的顆粒(PM10)

風向標準差(Sigma theta)

溫度在2米(ºC)

溫度在10米(ºC)

風向(度)

風速(m / s)

您可以在此處找到每種污染物的詳細說明

通風系統通過從隧道入口吸入新鮮空氣來工作,然後通過車輛和噴氣風扇的移動將新鮮空氣推入隧道。

在隧道出口之前,空氣通過通風結構被向上推動並從隧道中排出,然後向上進入大氣。

車輛進出的隧道出入口沒有排放物。全世界的研究清楚地表明,設計良好的隧道通風系統的排放對當地或區域的空氣質量沒有可測量的影響。

WestConnex系統的通風結構位於每條隧道的出口,以消除隧道內部的空氣。

該系統旨在:

  • 符合新南威爾士州嚴格的空氣質量要求,這是世界上最高的標準之一
  • 保持隧道內外的安全空氣質量
  • 管理現在和很長一段時間內預測交通量的排放量

新南威爾士州的隧道通風:

在新南威爾士州,所有隧道均使用通風系統。這些系統已被證明是非常有效的。之前和之後的研究表明,在隧道開通後,空氣質量始終保持良好狀態,對當地或區域的空氣質量沒有影響。

空氣質量社區諮詢委員會 (AQCCC) 已成立,以就空氣質量監測地點的位置和相關問題提供意見和建議。新 M4 隧道和 M8 的 AQCCC 均於 2017 年成立,M4-M5 連接隧道和 Rozelle 立交的 AQCCC 均於 2021 年成立。他們的社區和空氣質量。

AQCCC 的職責是就空氣質量監測站的位置提供建議,並就運行環境管理計劃和其他運行文件、合規跟踪報告、審計報告、與空氣質量有關的投訴和監測傳播提供建議和意見。結果,在隧道運行之前和期間。

欲了解更多信息,請參閱以下文件:

AQCCC 會議紀要可在文件庫中找到。

AQCCC 不是決策或監管機構,而是發揮諮詢和諮詢作用。

沿WestConnex項目走廊安裝了空氣質量監測站,以收集地面局部區域的數據。這些站可幫助WestConnex跟踪項目批准之前,項目運營之前和開放之後的空氣質量,以確保對當地空氣質量沒有可測量的影響並評估任何變化。

由於季節性氣候變化,風速和外部事件(如該地區的沙塵暴,叢林大火和建築工程),隧道附近郊區的外部空氣質量將在一年中變化。由於外部因素,空氣質量監測站需要每月(有時是每週)維護,以確保其正常運行。

如果在項目運營階段超出空氣質量水平目標則會在線發布報告(請參見下表)。迄今為止,超標主要歸因於叢林大火,沙塵暴和監視設備的維護中斷。

正在監視什麼?

怎麼樣?

多長時間?

結果將在哪裡發布?

外部隧道: WestConnex項目附近的環境或當地空氣質量

環境監測站放置在項目走廊沿線並靠近項目走廊的位置

批准之前;

手術前12個月;和

隧道開放後至少兩年

內部隧道:

隧道和通風口的空氣質量

隧道和通風口內的監控設備

24/7,在隧道運行期間的任何時候

當項目打開並運行時,可在Linkt空氣質量網站上獲得數據

有關新南威爾士州空氣質量的更多信息,請訪問新南威爾士州規劃,工業和環境部網站 ,以獲取悉尼當前和預計空氣質量的每日更新。

Search page close icon

Search WestConnex

熱門關鍵字

System.Linq.Enumerable+WhereSelectArrayIterator`2[Umbraco.Core.Models.ILanguage,Westconnex.Models.LanguageModel]
English (United States)

Our website uses cookies which collect information about how you interact with our website. We use this information to give you the best experience on our website and for analysis. By clicking the 'I accept' button, you are consenting to the use of cookies. However, if you would like, you can change your cookie settings in your browser any time. For more information, please see our Cookies and Tracking Statement.

WestConnex in-tunnel air quality monitoring program and ventilation systems have been designed to protect and improve the health of local communities and motorists using the tunnels.

Road tunnels can help reduce air pollution by moving traffic off of local roads and moving vehicles underground. A tunnel, compared to a local surface road, allows vehicle emissions to be controlled and dispersed more effectively. Air quality around tunnels is continually monitored to ensure standards are met.

You can find real time data on air quality for the New M4 Tunnels, the M5 East and WestConnex M8 here

Sydney’s Air Quality

By world standards, Sydney’s air quality is good, according to international comparisons by the World Health Organisation who set guidelines.

Even though traffic volumes have significantly increased over time, Sydney’s air quality has improved and is now cleaner than it was two decades ago. This is due to major improvements in vehicle emissions mainly due to stricter fuel and vehicle emission standards.

WestConnex and Air Quality

WestConnex is committed to effectively managing air quality during the construction and operation of the WestConnex road network. Tunnel infrastructure includes state-of-the-art technologies such as monitoring and ventilation facilities, which help keep air clean in our tunnels and nearby communities.

Air Quality was considered and assessed during the design of WestConnex. Tunnels are designed to be wider, flatter and higher than other tunnels in Sydney, meaning a smoother journey with less stop-start driving, relieving surface congestion and fewer vehicle emissions.

Monitoring and Reporting on Air Quality

In NSW air emissions are regulated by the NSW Environment Protection Authority (EPA), and compliance with ambient, or outdoor, air quality standards is an essential consideration during road project design and operation. To ensure requirements and standards are met, the WestConnex Project must be built and operated according to conditions placed on the project, which control air quality limits, monitoring and reporting.

These conditions are developed in consultation with the NSW Advisory Committee on Tunnel Air Quality, chaired by the NSW Chief Scientist and Engineer and including representatives from the NSW Environment Protection Authority, NSW Health, Roads and Maritime, and the Department of Planning and Environment as well as world-leading air quality experts.

Monitoring and reporting takes place to protect and work towards enhancing a local community’s air quality and to ensure the in-tunnel ventilation system is operating effectively.

To see our Air Quality reporting pages for each project – please see links below.

New M4 Tunnels

WestConnex M8

Air pollution in Australia is measured by six main air pollutants; carbon monoxide, nitrogen dioxide, photochemical oxidants, sulphur dioxide, lead and particulate matter. Of all the pollutants assessed, PM2.5 (tiny particles of matter, one-fortieth the width of a hair) is considered to present the greatest potential impact to our health. Accordingly, NSW standards for PM2.5 are the most stringent in the world.

Sydney is a major international centre with residential, commercial, industrial, and natural occurrences such as bush fires, all contributing to air pollution. Major contributors include wood heaters and home heating, contributing 51 per cent of PM2.5.  Motor vehicles are an important contributor to emissions, contributing 14 per cent of PM2.5.

The in-tunnel air quality monitoring shows data for:

The external ambient air quality monitoring shows data for

The ventilation outlet air quality monitoring shows data for:

 

 

 

 

Carbon monoxide (CO)

Nitrogen dioxide (NO2)

Visibility (K)

Carbon monoxide (CO)

 

 

 

 

Carbon monoxide (CO)

Nitrogen dioxide (NO2)

Oxides of nitrogen (NOx)

Solid particles

Volatile organic compounds (VOC)

Nitrogen dioxide (NO2)

Particles less than 2.5 micrometres in diameter (PM2.5)

Particles less than 10 micrometres in diameter (PM10)

Standard deviation in wind direction (Sigma theta)

Temperature at 2 metres (ºC)

Temperature at 10 metres (ºC)

Wind direction (degrees)

Wind speed (m/s)

You can find a detailed description of each pollutant here

Ventilation systems work by drawing in fresh air from the tunnel entry, which is then pushed through the tunnel by the movement of vehicles and jet fans.

Before the tunnel exit, air is pushed up and out of the tunnel through a ventilation structure and high up into the atmosphere.

There are no emissions from the tunnel entries or exits where vehicles enter and exit. Research from around the world clearly shows emissions from well-designed tunnel ventilation systems have no measurable effect on local or regional air quality.

WestConnex systems feature ventilation structures located at the exit of each tunnel to remove air from inside the tunnel.

The system has been designed to:

  • meet NSW’s stringent air quality requirements, which are among the highest standards in the world
  • maintain safe air quality inside and outside the tunnel
  • manage emissions from predicted traffic volumes now and long into future

Tunnel ventilation in NSW:

In NSW, all tunnels use ventilation systems. These systems have proven to be very effective. Before and after studies show that air quality remained consistently good after the tunnels opened, with no impact to local or regional air quality.

Air Quality Community Consultative Committees (AQCCC) has been established to provide input and advice on the location of air quality monitoring locations and related issues. The M4 Project and the M8 project were both established in 2017 and meet every three months. Groups consist of local community members and council members who have a keen interest in their community and air quality.

The AQCCC’s role is to provide advice on the location of the air quality monitoring stations and to provide advice and input on the operation environmental management plans and other operational documents, compliance tracking reporting, audit reports, complaints relating to air quality, and dissemination of monitoring results, prior to and during the operation of the tunnels.

For more information, please refer to Terms of Reference.

AQCCC meeting minutes can be found in the document library.

The AQCCC is not a decision-making or regulatory body, and instead performs an advisory and consultative role.

Air quality monitoring stations are installed along the WestConnex Project corridor to collect data in local areas on the surface. These stations help WestConnex keep track of what the air quality was prior to project approval, prior to project operation and after opening to ensure there has been no measurable impact on local air quality and to assess any changes.

External air quality in the suburbs adjacent to tunnels will vary during the year due to seasonal climate variations, wind speeds and external events such as dust storms, bush fires and construction works in the area. Due to external factors, air quality stations require monthly and sometimes weekly maintenance to ensure they are running correctly.

When there is an exceedance in air quality levels goals during a projects operational phase, a report is published online (see below table). To date, exceedances have largely been due to bush fires, dust storms and maintenance disruptions with the monitoring equipment.

What is being monitored?

How?

For how long?

Where will results be published?

Outside tunnel: Ambient or local air quality nearby the WestConnex project

Ambient monitoring stations are placed in locations along and close to the project corridor

Prior to approval;

12 months prior to operation; and

For up to at least two years after the tunnels open

 

Inside tunnel:

Air quality in the tunnel and ventilation outlets

Monitoring equipment inside the tunnel and ventilation outlets

24/7, at all times during operation of the tunnels

When a project is open and operating, data is available on the Linkt air quality website

 

For more information on air quality in NSW visit the NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment website for a daily update on Sydney's current and forecast air quality.

Search page close icon

Search WestConnex

Popular keywords