運河到克里克公共藝術計劃

每個人的藝術

WestConnex公共藝術計劃-“運河到小河”於今年晚些時候正式啟動,它是由十八種委託藝術品組成的多元化計劃,將有助於激活聖彼得斯和比佛利山莊之間的新公園和現有公園,包括當代雕塑,藝術家設計的遊樂場,作家散步,大型壁畫和沈浸式照明裝置。

以連接藝術場所的水道而得名“運河到小河”,每件作品都是針對特定地點的人與地方之間關係的探索。

在此處了解有關藝術品的更多信息:

戈登·楊(Gordon Young)的著作《腳踏實地》(Down To Earth)在聖彼得斯坎貝爾路(Campbell Road)的一部分上創造了作家之路。在由八個基於文本的雕塑組成的一系列雕塑中,作家之路呈現出各種發現和原始,歷史和當代文本的組合,包括歌詞,詩歌,日記和故事。

該作品彰顯了磚對當地社區的文化意義。用定制的手工磚建造,藝術品的實質性直接引用了悉尼公園的標誌性傳統磚窯,煙囪和廣闊的粘土坑,以及聖彼得磚砌房屋的城市特色。

Gordon Young
Gordon Young

成為– Ikigai;存在的原因。日本的Ikigai概念指的是生命價值的源泉或使生命有價值的事物。這是安德魯·羅傑斯(Andrew Rogers)的新公共藝術品背後的中心思想。

包括雙聯畫的雕塑形式相互對話。作品被解釋為兩個抽象的人物,創造了一個空間來思考個人與社區之間的關係。

反射光的質量由高度拋光的不銹鋼製成,將作品轉變為對聖彼得斯城市環境的特定場所響應,既吸收又反射了周圍的世界。

走向未來-壹岐市是令人印象深刻的五米高地標,邀請觀眾探索當代文化景觀。

Andrew Rogers
Andrew Rogers

在當代通信中,星號是佔位符,符號或標記。它是寫作中的腳註,社交媒體中的編輯工具以及數學中結合數字的符號。自從2000年前希臘詩人Samothrace的Aristarchus首次使用它以來,星號就產生了視覺和感覺上的停頓,這是反射和重定向的時刻。 Asterisk以入口附近為中心,在三角形小路口之間的綠色空間的曲線內,將歡迎當地人和遊客,並成為社區聚會的場所。

星號鏈接到用於指導旅行者進行遠距離旅行的古代恆星導航系統,並尋找對原住民天文學意義重大的星座和傳統作為方向。在這條新的運輸路線的聖彼得交匯處的山頂上,這個未來主義雕塑是一個現代的指南針,在不同的角度都具有同等的價值。它驚人的陰影就像日d,隨著一天中和季節中的時間而變化,並引起人們的興趣。

星號邀請人們進行互動,反思,探索和娛樂。

Gill Gatfield, Asterix, 2020
Gill Gatfield
Gill Gatfield, Asterix, 2020
Gill Gatfield

格雷格·約翰斯(Greg Johns)創作的《在中心附近(有音樂)》是對地點,人物和歷史的一種令人著迷的冥想。作品以一個大型中央部分為中心,周圍有十個被稱為《觀察者》的人物。

中央四米高的曼荼羅是一種分形形式,一個簡單的圖案不斷重複,變得無限複雜,永無止境。多個世紀以來,藝術家在多種文化中一直在創造分形圖案。這也是自然界中普遍存在的一種現象:樹木,河流,雲層,颶風和許多其他有機系統都是分形形式。約翰斯使用這種模式將自然的產生力,較早的信仰體係以及當代物理學和哲學聯繫起來,以暗示一種普遍的相互聯繫。

當人們在中心的Corten鋼製雕塑周圍移動時,內部圖案會發生巨大變化,從而營造出動感十足的感官體驗。這種英勇的尺度與《觀察家》的親密,人類尺度的體驗形成對比。這些數字中嵌入了影響約翰斯實踐的多種文化參考:澳大利亞的風景,土著藝術和歐洲的形象雕塑。

Greg Johns
Greg Johns

斯蒂芬·金(Stephen King)的碳儲存是一項具有紀念意義的作品,它評論了澳大利亞硬木中大量的碳被鎖存。夏季,澳大利亞東海岸發生了一場災難性的森林大火,向大氣釋放了2.5億噸二氧化碳,幾乎是該國年排放量的一半。這項及時而艱辛的工作也希望提醒人們,森林的再生可以幫助吸收碳排放。

國王在新的聖彼得斯互換公園(St Peters Interchange parkland)的巨大結構與其所處的灌木叢景觀息息相關。金是新南威爾士州新英格蘭地區的藝術家和農民。那幅風景是他藝術的字面基礎:他的雕塑通常是橫財的樹木製成-來自他自己的農田,或者來自本地,生態可持續的自我替代木材。他用鏈鋸將硬木原木雕刻成桁架橫梁,橫切整個穀物,以產生畫刷筆觸的錯覺。手工製作的結構元素幾乎不重要,每個元素對它所來自的樹都有不同的反應。

Carbon商店高聳於14.5米處的立交橋,重塑了我們與建築的關係,並在城市環境中創造了更具觸覺的有機體驗。邀請公眾進入這個身臨其境的空間,穿越雕塑並穿越雕塑,穿越當代文化景觀。

Stephen King
Stephen King

 

Yioryios Papayioryiou是一位新興的本地內西藝術家,在他的亞歷山大工作室工作。他創作了受建築和建築環境啟發的簡約抽象雕塑。他的新作品《攔截點》(CTC20)是一種無縫,流暢的手勢,可響應新的聖彼得斯立交高速公路的線條和輪廓。

這也是對當地遺產和特色的慶祝。一側塗有充滿活力的深紅色鎘,它是與整個內西區建造的聯邦建築相關的標誌性顏色。攔截點(CTC20)在將該地區的遺產重新想像成當代雕塑的同時,同時為聖彼得斯提供了一個新的圖標,體現了作為重要城市塑造項目一部分而對立交橋的複興和復興。

該工程將位於運河道旁的聖彼得斯互換立交橋頂部。它是公園的主要景觀特徵,從這個有利位置,觀眾可以欣賞到動感的城市中的藝術品。從土墩頂部的全景可以洞悉全球城市的複雜物流和運輸方式:悉尼機場源源不斷的飛機;堅拿道海運集裝箱服務公司的集裝箱拼湊而成的色彩斑;;以及周圍主要道路動脈的嗡嗡聲。

截取點(CTC20)充分利用了這種轉變中的城市景觀的活力和活力,將其提煉為一種雕塑形式,各種觀眾都可以使用和欣賞。

Yioryios 2
Yioryios
Yioryios 2
Yioryios

聖彼得籬笆遊樂場是可攀爬的磚圍牆的集合。每個圍欄都是用磚砌的磚砌而成,這些存檔圖像重建了在過去30年中因基礎設施擴建項目而拆除的聖彼得斯房屋前圍欄。

整個內西部的柵欄美學形成鮮明對比,揭示了該地區的文化多樣性,以及移民家庭的文化背景如何影響了柵欄的設計。籬笆的恢復轉移了這些物品的文物古蹟的地位,慶祝它們成為當地身份和多樣性的標誌。聖彼得籬笆遊樂場將辛普森公園變成了新型的博物館遊樂場,可以以有趣,互動和互動的方式探索社區歷史和記憶,對兒童和成人均如此。

這個佔地1500平方米的遊樂場的每個單獨元素都是用手工製作的材料製成的,其中包括打撈的磚塊,傳統的砂岩和維多利亞時代的露台圍欄,其中大部分是從最近在坎貝爾街沿線拆除的房屋中打撈出來的。

新的遊樂場旨在為人們提供暢通,包容和富有想像力的遊樂設施,並為低矮遊樂設施和輪椅通道提供量身定制的空間,並逐漸增加其高度以供高級遊樂設施使用。操場是與社區共同創建的,其中包括與聖彼得斯公立學校的學生共同舉辦的一系列社區參與研討會,他們將創意納入最終的設計中。

005
003
006
007
001
002
004
Simpson's Park Sketch (1)
005
003
006
007
001
002
004
Simpson's Park Sketch (1)

亞當·金(Adam King)的作品Pemulwuy和《悉尼原住民》慶祝當地土著人民和文化,將過去和現在的原住民與鄉村聯繫在一起。

207個當地原住民的剪影將在五個鋼雕塑上的面板上展示。穿過負空間的光的活動會將他們的影子投射到土地(國家),永恆聯繫和歸屬的地方。其中一個小組成員是對Bidjigal男人Pemulwuy the Rainbow Warrior的力量和韌性的尊重。 Pemulwuy在18世紀後期帶領原住民抵抗英國殖民地,進行了長達12年的游擊戰,直到1802年他被暗殺。他仍然是Eora國家的摯愛和欽佩英雄,在這幅新藝術品中,他被包圍悉尼地區的幾代原住民,包括藍山山脈,戈斯福德和臥龍崗。

該作品位於伯爵伍德(Earlwood)的Turrella Reserve,靠近Wolli Creek和Wolli Creek步行道的殘餘原生灌木叢。該作品旨在吸引國家公園和野生動物服務公園的遊客,增加對土著歷史和文化的接觸和參與,以使不同的觀眾欣賞。

Adam King 1
Adam King 1

丹·鄧普曼(Dan Templeman)充滿活力的新作品《八環》改變了比佛利山莊喬治王道附近的線性公園。該作品旨在為線性公園的毗鄰居民和使用者帶來娛樂和參與,並通過這種令人興奮的文化干預活動來激活現有的公園。

作品被認為是從兩個相同的圓柱體“切下”的兩個相同的四個環組。兩組環相互接觸,並通過將環彼此“旋轉”開來,出現了複雜的動態效果,其中前景和背景合併並分離成一團看似完全不同的弧。

當觀看者在作品中四處移動時,它似乎發生了變化。當觀看者移動以理解每組環的奇異性時,複雜而混亂的形式很快就會被弄亂。將八個環重新連接成兩個環,使作品具有難以捉摸的品質,從而促進了探索和參與,改變了環境並增強了人們對環境的感知。

Dan Templeman
Dan Templeman 2
Dan Templeman
Dan Templeman 2

黛博拉·哈珀恩(Deborah Halpern)的玻璃馬賽克瓷磚雕塑作品集將創建一個從金斯格羅夫路(Kingsgrove Road)到線性公園(Linear Park)的活力門戶。標題為“四個恩典”的數字代表自然元素:風,河,雲和太陽能。他們是寓言寓意的家庭,象徵著居住在金斯格羅夫及其周邊地區的土地,天氣和生物。每個人物都是動感的,他們的風動頭部使人物栩栩如生。

風人物慶祝這一充滿活力的力量及其在塑造我們的景觀,生態,神話,科學和技術中所發揮的核心作用。河流是對庫克斯河和沃利河水道的參考,這些水道是當地環境的重要地理特徵,並維持著當地鳥類和魚類的數量。雲是指當地的原生植物,是該地區歷史悠久的野生動物的殘餘。 Solar的小耳朵讓人聯想起仍稱該地區為家的動物,例如普通的尾巴負鼠和灰頭蒼蠅。

這四幅作品代表了家庭,社區以及萬物之間的相互聯繫。

Deborah Halpern
Deborah Halpern

漢娜·霍恩(Hanna Hoyne)的Moonvessel&Horn(Soul Mine),一對新月形月亮躺在其背面,旁邊是巨大的金色留聲機號角。作品輕輕地指向宇宙和人類自我的內部世界。

自時間開始以來,月球就使人們著迷,它引導旅行者了解他們在地球上的運動,並幫助我們了解我們在宇宙中的位置。月亮雕塑是一種宇宙飛船,象徵著旅途。它的形狀像獨木舟,與附近的Wolli Creek息息相關,自遠古時代起,就可以在水路中穿行。 Moonvessel以人為比例創建,邀請過路人坐在雕塑的搖籃中,就像在天上的漫遊中一樣。

留聲機的霍恩雕塑描繪了人類數千年來一直使用的自然出現的喇叭形狀的機械版本,用以放大歌曲和人造聲音。它是聽的隱喻,是一種將靈魂向內定向的聽。

Hanna Hoyne
Hanna Hoyne Night
HERO0000
Hanna Hoyne
Hanna Hoyne Night
HERO0000

妮可·蒙克斯(Nicole Monks)由藝術家設計的遊樂場是對當地暴民(Gadigal,Bidjigal和Gwegal)的致敬。

解釋性的遊戲環境鼓勵通過遊戲學習和與景觀互動。它採用長而流暢的運動線的形式,參考了Wolli Creek和Cooks River的元素流。明亮多彩的調色板將我們連接到天空和waranggu:彩虹。這種土著人對地方的看法以當代的形式表達出來,它將來自各種文化的兒童社區聚集在一起玩耍,學習和成長。

Waranggu專為富有想像力和非規範性的遊戲體驗而設計,例如攀爬,懸掛,行走,爬行,跑步,搖擺和休息

Nicole Monks 2
Nicole Monks 3
Nicole Monks
Nicole Monks 2
Nicole Monks 3
Nicole Monks

湯姆米蘇拉(Tom Misura)的袋鼠座椅慶祝Wolli Creek地區的傳統本土動物區系。兒童和成人都是不銹鋼製成的,站立得比生命更大,他們將能夠體驗坐在袋鼠袋中的樂趣。這些有趣,互動和實用的雕塑將激活比佛利山莊的Tallawalla Street Reserve。

002
003
Tom Misura
002
003
Tom Misura

沃倫·蘭利(Warren Langley)的《沃利(Wolli)》將比佛利山莊(Beverly Hills)的Kindilan地下通道改造成體驗照明雕塑。它的靈感來自附近的Wolli Creek,它試圖捕捉從其蕩漾的水反射的陽光之美。

懸掛在天花板上的聚碳酸酯雕花刀片發出純白色的光。葉片蜿蜒穿過地下通道,像小溪的自然流一樣輕輕彎曲。每個葉片代表一種波紋效果,營造出穿越地下通道的運動感。

這位藝術家與當地社區合作,繪製了他們與Wolli Creek的故事和關係。與聖喬治攝影學會舉行了比賽,邀請社區創建圖像,以顯示自然環境如何塑造他們的體驗。藝術品回應了對Wolli Creek的社區解釋,為他們的生活經歷提供了意義。

Warren Langley
Warren Langley

克里斯蒂娜·休恩(Christina Huynh,又名STYNA)是一位來自西悉尼的藝術家,其作品的靈感來自到遙遠的地方,講故事和傳承。她將這些主題帶到她在Kingsgrove的Lundy地下通道的新大型繪畫《奇幻世界》中。

該作品慶祝金斯格羅夫(Kingsgrove)當地的遺產和文化多樣性。作品中的關鍵要素是當地的古爾芬雀科,世界各地的國花以及一系列的陶罐。這些罐子引用了1910-2010年在金斯格羅夫(Kingsgrove)開業並生產傳統兵馬俑產品的馬什曼陶器廠。這些物品中的許多現在已成為重要的裝飾藝術收藏品的一部分,包括Powerhouse博物館。 STYNA向悠久的工藝美術傳統致敬,這是金斯格羅夫遺產的一部分。

這項工作的目的是傳達幻想世界離我們的日子並不遙遠–當人們尋求它時,實際上到處都有事情發生。

Christina Huynh
Christina Huynh Styna
Christina Huynh
Christina Huynh Styna

我喜歡想像水下的生物和坐在樹上看著房子的負鼠。我愛樹上的狐狸和貓頭鷹過著幸福的生活。在mo樹上唱歌的鳥。我希望我的隧道觀眾與我的河流生物一起游泳。”艾米麗·克羅克福德(Emily Crockford)

Emily Crockford(工作室A)將使用大型繪畫和照明裝置將Kingsgrove的Karingal地下通道轉變為沈浸式藝術體驗。

這項名為《牡蠣的吃彩虹》的作品將在隧道環境中創造一個自然的仙境。它的靈感來自該地區及其水道的生態豐富性和多樣性:鳥類,魚類,亞比和牡蠣。這也提醒著這些棲息地的脆弱性,以及為子孫後代保護我們的天空,樹枝和河床的重要性。

 

近二十年前,當地街頭藝術家Matthew Peet(又名Mistery)和Michael Lothian(又名Jesta)受命為Kingsgrove的Linear Park繪製地下通道壁畫。藝術家團隊被重新委託參加“運河到小河:M8公共藝術計劃”,以在Arinya地下通道安裝一幅新的大型油畫,為公園帶來現代感。這次,Mistery和Jesta在隧道的建築中做出了更大膽,更大膽的聲明,藝術品從地下通道中湧出。

該作品有兩件事:深度和透視感,從某些有利位置觀看時會產生視覺錯覺。這個多維空間鼓勵觀眾進入作品。它還描繪了過去,現在和未來Kingsgrove的主要建築,記錄了不斷變化的城市景觀以及地方和文化的變化。

Mistery And Jesta
Mistery And Jesta

傑森·溫(Jason Wing)受命在線性公園(Linear Park)的擋土牆上製作一系列的模具,以連接北貝克斯利(Bexley North)和比佛利山莊(Beverly Hills)之間當代藝術品的新文化景觀。該系列節目將向Eora國家的比吉加爾人Pemulwuy the Rainbow Warrior致敬,他是18世紀後期最重要的活動家和政治人物之一。

Pemulwuy利用庫克河作為連接氏族和運送戰士的主要動脈,領導了抵抗殖民力量的原住民運動。這個重要的,特定於站點的歷史將在Linear Park上得到認可,在上下文中代表Bidjigal英雄。

烏鴉將描繪Pemulwuy。他被稱為Butu Wargun,在比吉加爾語中的意思是“烏鴉”或“法人”,並且有Pemulwuy通過變成一隻烏鴉逃脫監禁的記載,只在自己的牢房裡留下了烏鴉的羽毛。

Search page close icon

Search WestConnex

熱門關鍵字

System.Linq.Enumerable+WhereSelectArrayIterator`2[Umbraco.Core.Models.ILanguage,Westconnex.Models.LanguageModel]
English (United States)

Our website uses cookies which collect information about how you interact with our website. We use this information to give you the best experience on our website and for analysis. By clicking the 'I accept' button, you are consenting to the use of cookies. However, if you would like, you can change your cookie settings in your browser any time. For more information, please see our Cookies and Tracking Statement.

Canal to Creek Public Art Program

Art for everyone

Officially launching later this year, the WestConnex Public Art Program – ‘Canal to Creek’ - is a diverse program of eighteen commissioned artworks that will help activate new and existing parkla­nds between St Peters and Beverly Hills including contemporary sculpture, artist-designed playgrounds, a writers walk, large-scale murals and immersive lighting installations.

Named ‘Canal to Creek’ after the waterways that connect the art sites, each work ­­is a site-specific exploration of the relationship between people and place.

Learn more about the art pieces here:

Gordon Young’s work Down To Earth creates a Writers Walk along a section of Campbell Road, St Peters. In a series of eight text-based sculptures, the Writers Walk presents a diverse mix of found and original, historical and contemporary texts including lyrics, poetry, diaries and stories.

The work celebrates the cultural significance of brick for the local community. Constructed from bespoke handmade bricks, the artwork materiality directly references Sydney Park’s iconic heritage brick kilns, chimneys and vast clay pits, as well as the urban character of St Peters brick homes.

Gordon Young
Gordon Young

To Be – Ikigai; A reason for being. The Japanese concept of Ikigai refers to the source of value in one’s life or the things that make one’s life worthwhile. This is the central idea behind Andrew Rogers’ new public artwork.

The sculptural forms comprising the diptych stand in conversation with each other. Interpreted as two abstract figures, the work creates a space to contemplate the relationship between the individual and community.

Made from highly polished stainless steel, the reflective quality transforms the work into a site-specific response to the St Peters urban context, both absorbing and reflecting the world around.

To Be - Ikigai is an impressive five metre high landmark that invites audiences to explore the contemporary cultural landscape.

Andrew Rogers
Andrew Rogers

In contemporary communications, an asterisk is a place-holder, a symbol or mark. It is a footnote in writing, an editing tool in social media, and a symbol combining numbers in mathematics. Since it was first used 2000 years ago by the Greek poet Aristarchus of Samothrace, an asterisk creates a visual and sensory pause - a moment for reflection and redirection. Centred near the entrance and within the curve of a green space between triangular pathway intersections, Asterisk will welcome locals and visitors and become a community meeting place.

Asterisk links to the ancient stellar navigation systems used to guide travellers on journeys far and wide, and looks to constellations and traditions significant in Aboriginal astronomy for direction. At the crest of the St Peters Interchange in this new transport route, the futurist sculpture is a modern compass, placing equal value on different perspectives. Its striking shadows act like a sundial, creating intrigue and changing with the time of day and season.

Asterisk invites people to interact, reflect, explore and play.

Gill Gatfield, Asterix, 2020
Gill Gatfield
Gill Gatfield, Asterix, 2020
Gill Gatfield

Near The Centre (There Is Music) by Greg Johns is a compelling meditation on place, people and history. The work features a large central piece surrounded by an installation of ten figures known as The Observers.

The central four metre high mandala is a fractal form, a simple pattern that repeats over and over, becoming infinitely complex and never-ending. Artists have been making fractal patterns for many centuries and across many cultures. It is also a phenomenon that exists throughout nature: trees, rivers, clouds, hurricanes and many other organic systems are all fractal forms. Johns uses this patterning to connect to the generative forces of nature, older belief systems, and contemporary physics and philosophy, to suggest a universal interconnectedness.

As one moves around the central Corten steel sculpture, the internal patterns change dramatically to create a dynamic, sensory experience. This heroic scale is contrasted with the intimate, human scale experience of The Observers. Embedded in these figures is a hybrid of cultural references that influence Johns’ practice: the Australian landscape, Indigenous art and European figurative sculpture.

Greg Johns
Greg Johns

Carbon store by Stephen King is a monumental work that comments on the significant amount of carbon locked up in Australian hardwoods. After a summer of catastrophic bushfires along the Australian east coast that unleashed 250m tonnes of CO2 into the atmosphere - almost half the country’s annual emissions – this timely and poignant work is also a hopeful reminder that forest regrowth can help reabsorb carbon emissions.

King’s immense structure at the new St Peters Interchange parkland is intimately linked to the bush landscape in which it was made. King is an artist and farmer in the New England region of NSW. That landscape is the literal foundation for his art: his sculptures are made of trees usually windfall - sourced from his own farmland, or from local, ecologically sustainable self-replacing timber plots. He carves the hardwood logs into trussed beams with a chainsaw, cutting across the grain to create the illusion of a painted brush stroke. The handmade structural elements are slightly off key, each one a different response to the tree from which it came.

Towering over the interchange at 14.5 metres high, Carbon store reshapes our relationship to architecture and creates a more tactile, organic experience within an urban context. The public is invited to step into this immersive space, passing through and around the sculpture as they journey the contemporary cultural landscape.

Stephen King
Stephen King

Yioryios Papayioryiou is an emerging, local Inner West artist who works out of his Alexandria studio. He creates minimalist, abstract sculptures inspired by architecture and the built environment. His new work Points of Interception (CTC20) is a seamless, fluid gesture responding to the lines and contours of the new St Peters Interchange motorway.

It is also a celebration of local heritage and character. Painted on one side in a vibrant cadmium deep red, it is the iconic colour associated with Federation architecture built throughout the Inner West. While re-imagining the heritage of the area into contemporary sculpture, Points of Interception (CTC20) simultaneously provides a new icon for St Peters that embodies the regeneration and revitalization of the Interchange as part of a major city-shaping project.

The work will be sited on top of the St Peters Interchange mound adjacent to Canal Road. It is the main landscape feature of the parkland and from this vantage point audiences can appreciate the artwork in the context of a city in motion. The panoramic view from the top of the mound provides an insight into the complex logistics and transit modalities of a global city: the constant stream of aircraft at Sydney Airport; the colourful patchwork of shipping containers at Canal Road Maritime Container Services; and the hum of the surrounding major road arteries.

Points of Interception (CTC20) harnesses the energy and dynamism of this transforming urban landscape, distilling it into a sculptural form that diverse audiences can access and enjoy.

Yioryios 2
Yioryios
Yioryios 2
Yioryios

St Peters Fences Playground is an assemblage of climbable brick fences. Each fence is built brick-for-brick from archive images recreating the front fences of homes in St Peters demolished for infrastructure expansion projects in the last 30 years.

The contrasting aesthetic of fences throughout the Inner West reveals the cultural diversity of the area and how fence designs were influenced by the cultural background of immigrating families. The recreation of fences transfers these objects the status of heritage artefact, celebrating them as a markers of local identity and diversity. St Peters Fences Playground transforms Simpson Park into a new type of museum playscape that can explore community history and memory in a way that is fun, engaging and interactive for children and adults alike.

Each individual element of the 750 square metre playground is hand-crafted from materials including salvaged brick, heritage sandstone and Victorian terrace fencing, most of which has been salvaged from homes recently demolished along Campbell St.

The new playground is designed for accessible, inclusive and imaginative play, with tailored spaces for low play and wheelchair access, gradually increasing in height for advanced play. The playground has been co-created with community, including a series of community engagement workshops with St Peters Public School students who contributed ideas that will be incorporated into the final design.

Simpson's Park Sketch (1)
Simpson's Park Sketch (1)

Adam King’s work Pemulwuy and Aboriginal Sydney celebrates local Indigenous people and culture, linking past and present generations of Aboriginal people on Country.

Silhouettes of 207 local Aboriginal people will be displayed across panels on five steel sculptures. The play of light through negative space will cast their shadow onto the land (Country), place of eternal connection and belonging. One of the panels honours the strength and resilience of Bidjigal man Pemulwuy the Rainbow Warrior. Pemulwuy led the Aboriginal resistance against the British colony in the late eighteenth century, conducting a twelve year period of guerrilla warfare until his assassination in 1802. He remains a loved and admired hero of the Eora nation, and in this new artwork he is surrounded by generations of Aboriginal people of the Sydney District including the Blue Mountains, Gosford and Wollongong.

The work is located at Turrella Reserve, Earlwood, close to Wolli Creek and the remnant native bushland of the Wolli Creek walking track. The work is intended to engage visitors to the National Parks and Wildlife Services parkland, increasing access and engagement to Indigenous history and culture for diverse audiences to enjoy.

Adam King 1
Adam King 1

Dan Templeman’s vibrant new work Eight Rings transforms Linear Park near King Georges Road, Beverly Hills. The work is created for the enjoyment and engagement of adjoining residents and users of Linear Park, helping to activate the existing parkland with this exciting cultural intervention.

The work is conceived as two identical sets of four rings ‘cut’ from two identical cylinders. The two sets of rings touch and by ‘turning’ the rings away from each other, a complex dynamic emerges in which foreground and background merge and separate in a jumble of seemingly disparate arcs.

As the viewer moves around the work it appears to change. The complex and scrambled form is quickly untangled when the viewer moves to apprehend the singularity of each set of rings. The re-joining of the eight rings into a set of two gives the artwork an elusive quality that promotes exploration and engagement, transforming the environment and one’s perception of it.

Dan Templeman
Dan Templeman 2
Dan Templeman
Dan Templeman 2

A collection of glass mosaic-tiled sculptures by Deborah Halpern will create a vibrant portal to Linear Park from Kingsgrove Road. Titled The Four Graces, the figures represent natural elements: Wind, River, Cloud and Solar. They are an allegoric family that symbolise the land, the weather, and creatures that inhabit Kingsgrove and the surrounding areas. Each figure is kinetic, their wind-activated heads bringing the figures to life.

The Wind figure celebrates this energetic force and the central role it has played in shaping our landscapes, ecologies, mythologies, science and technology. River is a reference to the Cooks River and Wolli Creek waterways that are significant geographic features of the local environment and sustain local bird and fish populations. Cloud refers to the local native flora, remnants of the historical wildlife of the area. Solar has small ears that evoke the animals that still call this area home, like the Common Brushtail Possum and the Grey-headed Flying Fox.

The four works represent family, community, and the inter-connection between all things.

Deborah Halpern
Deborah Halpern

Moonvessel & Horn (Soul Mine) by Hanna Hoyne, pairs a crescent moon, lying on its back, next to giant golden gramophone horn. The work gently gestures at cosmologies of the universe and the interior world of the human self.

The moon has fascinated people since the beginnings of time, guiding travellers on their movements across our planet and helping us understand our place in the universe. The moon sculpture is a kind of cosmic vessel, a symbol of journey. Shaped like a canoe, it has a relationship to the nearby Wolli Creek and travels the waterway has made possible since time immemorial. Created at a human scale, Moonvessel invites passers-by to sit and lie in the cradle of the sculpture, as if one might be transported on a celestial odyssey.

The gramophone Horn sculpture depicts a mechanical version of the naturally-occurring trumpet shape used by humans for millennia to amplify song and man-made sound. It is a metaphor for listening, the kind of listening that directs one inwards to the soul.

Hanna Hoyne
Hanna Hoyne Night
HERO0000
Hanna Hoyne
Hanna Hoyne Night
HERO0000

Nicole Monks’ artist-designed playground is a tribute to the Local Mob – the Gadigal, Bidjigal and Gwegal - Water People who swam, hunted and fished with their children in bark canoes on the local waterways.

The interpretive playscape encourages learning and interacting with the landscape through play. It takes the form of a long, fluid line of movement, referencing the elemental flow of Wolli Creek and Cooks River. The bright, colourful palette connects us to sky and waranggu: rainbow. This Indigenous perspective of place is expressed in a contemporary form that brings together communities of children from all cultures to play, learn and grow.

Waranggu is designed for imaginative and non-prescriptive play experiences like climbing, hanging, walking, crawling, running, swinging and resting

Nicole Monks 2
Nicole Monks 3
Nicole Monks
Nicole Monks 2
Nicole Monks 3
Nicole Monks

Tom Misura’s kangaroo seats celebrate the traditional native fauna of the Wolli Creek area. Shaped in stainless steel and standing larger than life, children and adults alike will be able to experience the delight of sitting in a kangaroo pouch. These playful, interactive and functional sculptures will activate Tallawalla Street Reserve, Beverly Hills.

Tom Misura
Tom Misura

Warren Langley’s Wolli transforms Kindilan underpass in Beverly Hills into an experiential lighting sculpture. It is inspired by the nearby Wolli Creek, an attempt to capture the beauty of sunlight reflecting off its rippling water.

Pure white light emanates from carved polycarbonate blades that are suspended from the ceiling. The blades meander through the underpass, gently curving like the natural flow of the creek. Each blade represents a ripple effect, creating a sense of movement through the underpass.

The artist worked with the local community to draw out their stories and relationships to Wolli Creek. A competition was held with the St George Photographic Society where the community was invited to create imagery that shows how the natural environment shapes their experience. The artwork responds to these community interpretations of Wolli Creek, providing meaning to their lived experience of place.

Warren Langley
Warren Langley

Christina Huynh (aka STYNA) is a Western Sydney based artist whose work is inspired by travels to faraway places, storytelling, and heritage. She brings these themes to her new large scale painting Fantastic Worlds at Lundy underpass, Kingsgrove.

The work celebrates Kingsgrove’s local heritage and cultural diversity. Key elements in the work are the native Gouldian finch, national flowers from around the world, and a series of terracotta pots. The pots reference Mashman Pottery Works which opened in Kingsgrove in 1910- 2010 and produced traditional terracotta products. Many of these objects are now part of significant decorative arts collections including the Powerhouse Museum. STYNA pays tribute to this long tradition of arts and craftsmanship that is part of Kingsgrove’s heritage.

The idea of the work is to convey that fantastic worlds aren’t so far from our day to day – when one seeks it, there are actually things happening all around.

Christina Huynh
Christina Huynh Styna
Christina Huynh
Christina Huynh Styna

I love to imagine the creatures under the water and the possums sitting on the trees looking at the house. I love foxies in the tree and owls having a happy life. Birds singing in moo trees. I wish for my tunnel audience to swim with my river creatures.” Emily Crockford

Emily Crockford (Studio A) will transform Kingsgrove’s Karingal underpass into an immersive art experience using large-scale painting and lighting installation.

Titled Oyster’s Eating Rainbows, this work will create a natural wonderland within the tunnel environment. It is inspired by the ecological abundance and diversity of the area and its waterways: the birds, fish, yabbies and oysters. It is also a reminder of the fragility of these habitats and the importance of preserving our skies, branches and riverbeds for future generations to come.

Local street artists Matthew Peet (aka Mistery) and Michael Lothian (aka Jesta) were commissioned nearly two decades ago to paint an underpass mural for Linear Park, Kingsgrove. The artist team is re-commissioned for Canal to Creek: The M8 Public Art Program to install a new large scale painting in Arinya underpass, bringing a contemporary perspective to the parkland. This time, Mistery and Jesta are making a bigger and bolder statement across the architecture of the tunnel, the artwork literally pouring out of the underpass.

The work does two things: plays with depth and perspective, creating an optical illusion when viewed from certain vantage points. This multi-dimensional space encourages the audience to enter the work. It also depicts key buildings from past, present and future Kingsgrove, documenting the changing urban landscape and transformations in place and culture.

Mistery And Jesta
Mistery And Jesta

Jason Wing is commissioned to do a series of stencils along the Linear Park retaining walls, connecting the new cultural landscape of contemporary artworks between Bexley North and Beverly Hills. This series will pay homage to Pemulwuy the Rainbow Warrior, a Bidjigal man of the Eora nation and one of the most significant activists and political figures in the late 18th century.

Pemulwuy led the Aboriginal campaign of resistance against colonial forces, using the Cooks River as a major artery for connecting clans and transporting warriors. This important, site-specific history will be recognised at Linear Park, representing the Bidjigal hero in context.

Pemulwuy will be depicted by the crow. He was known as Butu Wargun, meaning “crow” or “law man” in Bidjigal language, and there are accounts of Pemulwuy escaping incarceration by transforming into a crow, only leaving behind crow feathers in his cell.

 

Search page close icon

Search WestConnex

Popular keywords